Default Settings

To use the Scheduling & Attendance Module, you must set the defaults. It will use default settings across the platform unless you decide to override them in specific locations such as a site, zone, or even a complete department.

  • Settings > Backoffice Configurations > BackOffice Default > Schedule Default Settings

8adb8417-a7f3-45df-b29b-532e32378c9e.png

You can follow the guidance below to set your defaults.

 

Choose a Cycle First Date

Unless changed for a specific zone, site or department, this will be the default duration of the template. Default options are 7 or 14 days. 

To apply a specific cycle setting to a zone, site, or department, follow one of those paths: 

  • Sites (Client) > Select Site > Schedules > Prepare > Settings
  • Sites (client) > Site Zones (Groups) > Select Zone > Schedules > Prepare > Settings
  • Employees > Department > View desired Department > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

f6bb17a5-8696-4152-8986-cf78bf98db8c.png

On this screen, you can also configure the following settings at the site, zone, or department level.

Show Closed Days in Template: Differentiate between closed days and days when the client is open.

Allow Shift Board Self-Schedule: This setting allows guards to schedule themselves for vacant shifts posted to the shift board.

Schedule Cycle: Choose from 7-day, 14-day, and custom options. This setting determines the length of a single schedule template period.

First Period Start Date: Your template begins on this date. The day this date falls is when your schedule cycle will begin each period. See Default Settings.

 

Schedule Template First Day of Week

Unless changed for a specific zone, site or department, this will be the default starting day of the week for each schedule template.

If the default is set to a Monday, the template will repeat from Monday to Sunday (a seven-day schedule cycle). If the start date for a specific site is set to a Thursday, it will repeat from Thursday to Wednesday (every seven days schedule cycles). And will continue unless a change is made to the schedule cycle or the first-period start date.

To apply a specific cycle or template to a zone, site, or department, follow one of these paths: 

  • Sites (Client) > Select Site > Schedules > Prepare > Settings
  • Sites (client) > Site Zones (Groups) > Select Zone > Schedules > Prepare > Settings
  • Employees > Department > View desired Department > Schedules > Prepare > Settings

 

Preferred Schedule Publishing Frequency

Default options are Weekly, Bi-Weekly, or Monthly. 

When publishing, all shifts will publish by default to zones, sites, and departments. 

You can also publish to sites, zones, or departments only or publish to a specific one of these entities. To do so, follow one of these paths:

  • Dashboard > Schedules & Attendance > Live Schedule > Publish Schedules
  • Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Prepare > Publish

f71c1924-c2bb-4bf4-b0ae-482468147d1f.png

 

Allow Scheduling For Closed Business Days

Identify days when the site is not occupied, such as weekends for an office building, and allow specific shifts to be scheduled. It will add this option to your template to allow a unique schedule on those days. 

Follow this path to set up a unique schedule on closed business days.

  • Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Prepare > Template > Settings > Closed Days

e497ad41-8dec-479b-9c44-4c49a5e6b89b.png

 

Request Employee Schedule Acknowledgment

You'll need to publish the schedule before you can distribute it. Distribute the schedule via email to allow officers to confirm their shifts directly from their email. They will receive an automated email based on the range for which you distributed the schedule.

To distribute a schedule, follow this path:

  • Sites (Client) > Select Client > Schedules > Distribute Schedule

1c00afb9-408d-4850-818a-64ca876c06de.png

The Dashboard will display red tiles with numbers until employees acknowledge their schedule. This represents the number of shifts that have not been acknowledged. You can look at the unconfirmed and find a specific employee. From there, you will have access to each unconfirmed shift. 

To access it, follow this path:

  • Dashboard > Schedules & Attendance > Dashboard > Unconfirmed Shifts

    523cc2ec-a270-4773-bb3c-09483c05cb3b.png

Minimum Rest Period Between Shifts

Enter the number of hours. This will enforce a minimum rest period between shifts when an employee is scheduled. Note that a shift does not need to be published for this to work.

 

General Settings: Scheduling 

The general settings for Scheduling can be found among other General Settings. For more information on General Settings, please visit General Settings.

  • In your portal, go to Settings → Settings. The System Configs screen appears.
  • In the left menu, click Scheduling.

 Send Late Clock-Out Alert

  • For the field Send Late Clock-Out Alert after (in minutes), enter the number of minutes for the grace period after the shift ends to trigger the clock-out notification.
  • Click Save.
  • Mobile users will get a pop-up message with the following options:
    • Clock out & Stay Signed In
    • Clock Out & Sign Out
    • Snooze (5 min). If the mobile user is still on duty, they can snooze this reminder message for 5 minutes until they are asked to clock out again. If the user has the shift extended, the alert will stop.

Note: As long as a user has a scheduled shift and is clocked in, the user will get the clock-out reminder notification. If a user clocks out but is still signed in, the user will not get the notification.

685c4637-e671-444f-be05-a31ba2410674.png

 Permit early Clock-in (in minutes)

  • For the field Permit early Clock-in (in minutes), enter the number of minutes for the grace period to clock in before a shift begins.
  • Click Save.
  • Mobile users cannot clock in if they are early by the number of minutes. 
  • This feature is available with the following Clock-in methods only. For more information on each, please visit the relevant link.

Remove Shift Overlap at Employee level view (only)

This feature allows you to change how overnight shifts are displayed on your employees' schedules.  By default, overnight shifts will display in two different tiles.  Changing this to Yes will only show overnight shifts on the tile corresponding to the day the shift starts. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more